KinderBee

← All articles

Colorado's annual child care training hours: fifteen per person, and a different training year for every person

8 CCR 1402-1 2.213(M) sets fifteen clock hours a year with three in social-emotional development, and anchors the year to each employee's own start date — so a centre with forty staff runs forty training years, and 2.213(M)(3) forbids carrying a surplus into the next one. Here is the whole clause, the certificate fields 2.213(M)(4) enumerates, the exclusion we apply that Colorado's centre rule does not state, and the five one-off trainings 2.213 requires, which our credentials model evaluates rather than this training ledger.

Reviewed by Licensing Compliance Analyst 2 on 2026-10-08.

Fifteen hours is the part of Colorado's rule you can plan from a spreadsheet

The number is easy. 8 CCR 1402-1 2.213(M) asks for fifteen clock hours a year, three of them in social-emotional development, and that is the figure every summary of this requirement gives you.

The hard part is in the same sentence and almost never quoted: those fifteen hours are owed each year beginning with the start date of the employee. Colorado does not run one training year that your whole centre shares. It runs one per person, and a centre with forty staff is administering forty of them, each opening and closing on its own date, with no surplus allowed to cross from one into the next.

That is not a technicality for the person who keeps the records. It is a budgeting fact for the person who signs off the training spend, because it means when an hour is taken decides whether it counts at all.

Each statement below names its citation, its rule family, and where that rule set stands in our verification ledger.

The clause, in full

8 CCR 1402-1 2.213(M) — Colorado training rule set, VERIFIED against primary text 2026-10-06, text in force from 2026-02-14; see Colorado for the per-family status badge this page's claims rest on:

"All staff who work with children must complete a minimum of fifteen (15) clock hours of ongoing professional development each year, beginning with the start date of the employee. At least three (3) clock hours per year must be in the focus of social-emotional development."

Three separate requirements are packed into those two sentences, and they fail independently of one another.

  • Who. "All staff who work with children." No role split, no tier.
  • How many. Fifteen clock hours, with a floor of three in social-emotional development. Twelve general hours plus three social-emotional hours meets both; fifteen general hours meets one.
  • In what window. A year running from that employee's own start date.

Forty staff, forty training years — and no carryover to soften it

The anchor is the shape most systems get wrong, because the mistake is invisible. A ledger that stores an annual total against a calendar year has nowhere to put "this person's year closes on 14 March and that person's on 2 November." It will produce a tidy, confident, wrong answer for everybody whose hire date is not 1 January.

Colorado then removes the obvious workaround. 2.213(M)(3) (Colorado training rule set, VERIFIED against primary text 2026-10-06):

"Training hours completed can only be counted during the year taken and cannot be carried over."

Put the two together and the consequence for a director is concrete:

A staff member who completes twenty-two hours in their training year has met the requirement for that year and banked nothing. Seven hours of genuine, documented, approved training expire at their anniversary. The same twenty-two hours, split eleven and eleven across the anniversary, leaves them four short in each of two years.

So the timing of training spend is itself a compliance variable in Colorado, independent of how much you spend. A centre that buys a block of PD every January is buying it into a year that, for most of its staff, is already partly spent — and buying it in a form that cannot be held over for the staff whose year has just closed.

Colorado's express ban is unusual enough to be worth stating narrowly: it is 2.213(M)(3)'s own sentence, for Colorado. This page makes no claim about any other state's carryover position, which is a different question with different text behind it.

What our engine does when a hire date is missing

This section is product behaviour, not rule text. It describes a decision we made, and we are keeping it clearly separated from the clauses above.

A hire-date-anchored state needs a hire date. In a centre that migrated off paper last month, some of those fields are empty, and the honest answer matters more than the convenient one.

Our engine does not invent an anniversary. For a staff member with no recorded hire date in an anniversary state, it falls back to the calendar year and says so in its own output, labelling that person's window CALENDAR_YEAR_FALLBACK rather than returning a window that looks exactly like a correct one. An invented anniversary would silently mis-date every reminder for that person; a visibly wrong window is one somebody can notice and fix by filling in a date.

Two related behaviours, same principle. Unapproved hours count for nothing — staff log their own training, and until a director approves the record it contributes to no total; you cannot approve your own, and editing what happened withdraws a previous approval. And where nobody's recorded details match a rule in a state's table, the engine returns the strictest figure in that table, never zero. Demanding too much training is recoverable. Demanding none because a field was blank is what turns up at an inspection as a staff member with no training on record and no requirement showing against their name.

The first year: what Colorado states, and what we read into it

Here the distinction between a quoted rule and our reading of one does real work, so we are drawing it explicitly rather than giving you a cleaner sentence.

What Colorado states is the anchor clause quoted above — the fifteen hours are owed "each year, beginning with the start date of the employee" (2.213(M), CO training rule set, VERIFIED against primary text 2026-10-06). What Colorado does not state is any first-year carve-out; no clause of 2.213 exempts a staff member's first year, as a full read of the section confirmed.

KinderBee reads that as no exemption, and scores a staff member's first year as a full fifteen hours. That is our reading of an anchor plus a silence, not a sentence we can quote at you.

The asymmetry with North Carolina is worth seeing rather than smoothing over, because it is the difference between a quoted position and an inferred one. North Carolina's exemption is the opening words of the paragraph that sets its hours — 10A NCAC 09 .1103(a), "After the first year of employment" (NC training rule set, VERIFIED against primary text 2026-09-30). Colorado has no equivalent clause either way. One state's first-year position is printed in its rule; the other's, on this page, is ours.

One target for everybody — which is itself a design decision Colorado made

Colorado's fifteen hours apply to "all staff who work with children" (2.213(M), CO training rule set, VERIFIED 2026-10-06). There is no tiering in the clause: not by role, not by credential, not by hours worked. A twenty-year lead teacher with a degree and a new assistant hired last month owe the same fifteen.

North Carolina's training rule is built the opposite way. 10A NCAC 09 .1103(a) prints a chart of five annual figures selected by what the staff member holds — 5, 8, 10, 15 or 20 hours (NC training rule set, VERIFIED against primary text 2026-09-30). Same obligation, two different theories of who owes what.

That is a difference between two states' training rules and nothing more. Neither sentence says anything about what either state requires anybody to hold — credentials are a separate rule family with their own citations and their own verification status, and no claim about them is made here.

The certificate fields: Colorado enumerates them, and four of the six are unconditional

Hours that happened and cannot be evidenced in the form the rule names are a finding of their own. 2.213(M)(4) is the clause that decides what the paper has to say (CO training rule set, VERIFIED against primary text 2026-10-06):

"the training certificate must have documentation that includes: a. The title of the training; b. The competency domain or from a nationally approved vendor list; c. The date and clock hours of the training; d. The name or signature of the trainer, or other approved method of verifying the identity of trainer or entity; e. Expiration of training, if applicable; and f. Connection to social emotional focus, if applicable."

The split in that list is the whole practical point. Items a through d carry no condition — a certificate missing the trainer's name is short a field Colorado asks for every time. Items e and f are each qualified "if applicable."

How we handle the two conditional ones, stated plainly because this is product behaviour rather than rule text:

  • Field f, the social-emotional connection, is applicable exactly when the record's own competency domain is the social-emotional one — the same domain already behind the three-hour floor. Our records carry the competency domain as a required field, so a social-emotional record has, by that one value, already stated the connection. We check it through the domain rather than as a second field.
  • Field e, expiration, we deliberately do not check at all. Nothing in 2.213 ties expiration to a category, a credential type, or any other fact a training record carries, and Colorado's own definition of the qualifier — "'if applicable' means if the rule should be applied depending on the circumstances of the situation" (Definition 43, 8 CCR 1402-1) — is circular rather than a trigger. Whether a given course expires is a fact about that course and its vendor. Guessing at "applicable" here would raise a completeness finding against a centre that is compliant, and scoring stricter is a rule about never producing a false pass; it has never licensed inventing a requirement a rule marks conditional.

And one defect of our own, fixed and worth telling you about. Our record-completeness check used to run a union of the fields two states enumerate, which included a training location field. Colorado's list does not name one. Colorado records were being flagged as incomplete against a requirement Colorado never wrote — the exact failure mode of a cross-state checklist applied to a state that has its own enumeration, and the reason per-state rule data beats a superset. It now checks Colorado's five against Colorado's own clause.

CPR and first aid: we exclude those hours, and Colorado's centre rule does not tell us to

This is the most important paragraph on this page, and it is a disclosure about our engine rather than a statement of Colorado law.

Our engine excludes CPR and first-aid hours from Colorado's fifteen. Here is the full basis, including the part that does not support it.

Colorado's centre rule does not state the exclusion. 2.213(M) sets the fifteen hours and contains no clause removing CPR or first-aid hours from them. A full read of 2.213 found no such clause anywhere in the section.

The nearest thing to one governs a different kind of provider. 2.312(R)(4) says it outright — "The fifteen (15) clock hours of training do not include recertification in First Aid and CPR" — and 2.312 is the family child care home training rule. A home is not a centre. That sentence may not be cited as authority for what a centre must do, and we are not citing it as one.

We also had a worse argument for this and have withdrawn it. Most of the required trainings in 2.213 carry a clause saying they "will be counted towards ongoing professional development," and the First Aid/CPR ones do not — which we previously treated as Colorado signalling an exclusion by contrast. That argument does not hold. Read in full, four subsections lack the clause, not two: 2.213(E) and (F) (First Aid/CPR), plus (G) (Child Abuse Prevention) and (N) (the immunization course). And the clause is about crediting a duty a centre already owes for an independent reason toward the fifteen — so subsections that are not duties-with-hours lacking it is unremarkable rather than significant. Our own earliest primary-text pass had already rejected this reasoning and said the note should read "Colorado is silent for centres." A later pass asserted it anyway under a stronger label; a later one still reversed that. The record of all three is in the seed note the engine reads from.

So: KinderBee applies the exclusion to centres as a policy choice stricter than the silence, modelled on the home rule's analogy. We keep it because excluding the hours is the stricter reading — it can only ever make a centre's countable total smaller and its obligation harder, never easier, and denying relief we cannot source is the direction we err in by design.

What this means for you concretely. Our dashboard will not count your team's CPR recertification hours toward Colorado's fifteen. If a licensing specialist tells you Colorado's centre rule permits counting them, they are describing a silence we have chosen to read strictly, and they may well be right about it. Nothing on this page should be read as Colorado's rule saying those hours do not count. Colorado's centre rule says nothing about them at all.

For contrast, two states do print the exclusion, and the mechanism is the same in our engine while the authority for it is per-state: North Carolina at 10A NCAC 09 .1103(c), those hours "shall not be counted toward meeting annual on-going training requirements" (NC training rule set, VERIFIED against primary text 2026-09-30); Georgia at Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 591-1-1-.14(1)(a), "The hours obtained completing this certification will not count towards the required annual training hours" — a clause sitting in a different rule from the one that sets Georgia's annual figure (GA training rule set, VERIFIED against primary text 2026-10-05). Whether the exclusion applies in a given state is that state's own question, answered by that state's own clause or, in Colorado's case, not answered at all.

2.213 sets no multi-year topic cycle

Some states require that a list of health-and-safety topics each be covered on a rolling multi-year basis, on top of the annual hours — a second test a staff member can fail while hitting their number five years running.

8 CCR 1402-1 2.213 states no such cycle. That absence was confirmed by a full read of the section, (A) through (N), plus a search of the complete rule text for rotating-topic language (CO training rule set, VERIFIED against primary text 2026-10-06). 2.213(M) sets one hours floor and one category floor, and our Colorado rule set carries no topic cycle because the section has none.

The claim is scoped to 2.213, deliberately, and this page does not widen it to "Colorado requires no topic rotation anywhere." 2.213 is the clause a centre's ongoing professional development is assessed against; it is not the whole of Colorado's regulation of child care.

Five trainings Colorado requires once, that our credentials model evaluates — not this ledger

Stated here, in the body, because a reference page with no gaps stated is not a reference page — and because what this page's subject implies we check is itself a claim we owe you.

2.213 requires five trainings once, within a window of hire, separately from the recurring fifteen hours this page is about:

Clause Shape Do we evaluate it?
8 CCR 1402-1 2.213(H) Required once, within 90 days of hire, scoped to the ten named 2.208(D) roles Yes — as a credential
8 CCR 1402-1 2.213(I) Required once, within 90 days of hire, scoped to the ten named 2.208(D) roles Yes — as a credential
8 CCR 1402-1 2.213(J) Required once, within 90 days of hire, scoped to directors and assistant directors Yes — as a credential
8 CCR 1402-1 2.213(K) Required once, within 90 days of hire, scoped to directors and assistant directors Yes — as a credential
8 CCR 1402-1 2.213(L) Required once — Child Development Yes — as a credential

We model all five — as CredentialRule rows, not as part of this page's training-hours ledger. A one-off obligation attached to a hire date is a CredentialRule shape (required_before= WITHIN_DAYS_OF_HIRE, onboarding_days=90, no renewal clock), a shape already used elsewhere in our credential model for a one-time, hire-anchored orientation duty — not this page's recurring annual-hours quota, which has nowhere to put a one-time duty. So these five now show against a staff member's qualifications record (/dashboard/staffing/credentials, the inspection packet) the same as any other credential, not against the training dashboard this page describes. (H) and (I) are seeded once per each of the ten 2.208(D) roles rather than as one all-staff row, since the clause does not reach every employee; (J) and (K) once each for directors and for assistant directors.

Two further things about them, both disclosed rather than smoothed over:

  • Colorado's own text says each of (H), (I), (J) and (K) "will be counted towards ongoing professional development" — so these are trainings Colorado both requires once and credits against the fifteen. The credit toward this page's annual total still reaches our training totals only by somebody logging the hours as an ordinary training record; the credential model and the training ledger are not wired together, so completing the credential does not itself create a training-hours entry.
  • The clause's "regular volunteers" half, for (G) below, is not modelled. This platform has no volunteer concept anywhere in our staff model, so a volunteer on-site today is not evaluated against this, or any, credential — disclosed rather than silently dropped.

What else this page does not cover

  • A professional-development plan requirement. This page makes no claim that Colorado has one or that it does not. We state the clauses we read; 2.213(M)'s hours and 2.213(M)(4)'s certificate fields are what we read.
  • Credential and ratio requirements. Separate rule families, separately verified, no claim made here. See Colorado for the per-family picture.
  • 2.213(G)'s Child Abuse Prevention training, which Colorado requires before a staff member works with children and annually thereafter, is not part of the annual-hours ledger this page describes. It is evaluated — as a CredentialRule row with a twelve-month renewal, same family as (H)–(L) above — just not by this page's training-hours engine.

The boundary on all of it

We are at a pilot, disclosed stage, and a rule set being verified does not move that line. What "verified" means here is narrow and exact: this rule set, on this date, against this text. It is a statement about our provenance, not a certification of our product and not a claim about your centre.

This page states what 8 CCR 1402-1 2.213 requires and which clause each figure comes from, and it names the obligations in that same section this training ledger does not evaluate — including the six now evaluated elsewhere, as credentials, which it points to rather than hides. What it does not do — what we will not write — is tell you that your centre is compliant. A licensing visit assesses your centre, and 45 CFR 98.42(b)(2)(i)(B) makes that visit unannounced.

Same state, other rule family: the credentials side of the same staffing question is on its own page — Can a Colorado daycare employee work while their background check is pending?. Its claims rest on Colorado's credentials rule set, versioned and verified separately from the training rule set this page states.

How to check us

These clauses were read from the Colorado Secretary of State's own rule PDF at coloradosos.gov/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=12417&fileName=8+CCR+1402-1, the edition effective 2026-02-14. That version pin matters more here than anywhere else we publish: coloradosos.gov is the only host we have found serving Colorado's current text, while Cornell, Justia and the federal ACF database all still mirror the superseded 2025-02-14 edition. A correct-but-superseded citation is a wrong citation, and a reader checking us against one of those mirrors will find text that does not match.

Two dates on this page are different things and both are correct. The Colorado training rule set was verified against primary text on 2026-10-06 — that is when we read it. The text we read has been in force since 2026-02-14 — that is when Colorado's amendment took effect. An earlier pass of ours recorded the effective date as 2023-12-30, the original adoption of the 2.200–2.243 series; the rule's own History block lists 2.213 with no sub-letter in its February 2026 amendment line, which by that block's own convention means the whole section was reissued. We corrected it. 2.213(M)'s fifteen hours, three social-emotional hours, hire-date anchor and carryover ban transcribed correctly either way.

Start with Colorado for ratios and credentials alongside these training hours, or North Carolina's annual training hours for a state that sets five different annual figures instead of one. The state reference library has the other states we model and which of their rule families have been verified against primary text.

Also cites: NC training (verified), GA training (verified)

Regulations change. This page is a reference, not legal advice — verify current requirements with the state licensing agency before acting on it.